Hamwic Education Trust is governed by a board of trustees who direct the organisation’s work.

We believe in transparency and accountability throughout the trust, including its schools and partnerships. Our trustees provide support and challenge, as required, to ensure we continue to match our vision and values.

Hamwic Education Trust Board

Trustees are as follows:

Alice Wrighton

Trust Board Chair

Ruth Leach

Lucy Knox

Gary Plummer

Harriet Kemp

Christopher Scoggins

Nicola Bull

Darren Foy

Hamwic Education Trust Members

Members are as follows:

The Ven Antony MacRow-Wood


Nigel Reichelt

Corporate member

Christopher Elliott-Newman

Matthew Rumble

Alice Wrighton

Trustees Bios

Alice Wrighton:

Alice was a senior leader in Hampshire Sixth Form Colleges for 20 years prior to her retirement in 2018, leading quality improvement and managing organisational change in close collaboration with leaders from all sectors of education. Before moving into senior roles, she taught History, Law and Languages across the 11-18 age range.


Alice has lived and worked in the Southampton area for most of her life.  She believes that everyone should have access to high quality and inclusive education within their own neighbourhood and that this is best provided within strong, locally based learning communities.   She enjoys choral singing, reading, walking and cycling, and is a keen Saints FC supporter.


Lucy Knox:

Lucy is the Chief Financial Officer of Insensys Limited, a local engineering business in the renewable energy sector.  Prior to this she was a partner at Deloitte in London advising a range of companies on audit, accounting and other areas of financial due diligence. Lucy is also an independent member of the Audit Committee of the Southern Coop.


Ruth Leach:

Qualifying as a teacher in 1995, Ruth taught for 6 years in Yorkshire and Dorset before moving into leadership as Deputy Head of Hayeswood First School. Prior to retiring Ruth was the Headteacher at Springdale First School for ten years and the Executive Headteacher at Turlin Moor Community School for two years.


Prior to working in education, Ruth worked in medical research. Currently she works as an educational consultant, providing support for school leaders and as a Professional Tutor for trainee teachers and those in their NQT year.


Gary Plummer

Born in Poole, Gary has lived locally all his life.  After finishing “A” levels, he started working for a large financial institution locally and then went back to university part time to gain his degree, professional qualifications and finally a post-graduate qualification in Law.   He continues to work for the same company 28 years on and is now responsible for various legal, tax and regulation aspects of the business.  He has led a local governing committee within a trust school for many years prior to taking up the role of Trustee in 2021.


Chris Scoggins

Chris has a passion for education and improving the life chances of all children.  As an individual from a disadvantaged background who benefited from access to good education he understands the importance of education in children’s lives and the difference this can make to society and the economy.  His governance experience spans public and private sectors and education including 5 years as a school governor.


Nicola Bull:

Nicola works as an Education Director and leads Teaching and Learning across one of the largest UK Trusts. Prior to this, she worked as the Director of Education in a ten-school academy trust overseeing primary, secondary school and sixth form college improvement.

Additionally, Nicola has held two secondary headships, including leading a significant change project of merging two schools and achieving significantly improved outcomes for children in both schools.

Nicola is passionate about delivering the best educational experiences for children through creating a culture of care in which young people feel safe, valued and supported to achieve more than they thought possible.